Vegetarian Thanksgiving

{ Vegetarian Thanksgiving }

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I love to surround myself with friends, family, food & drinks…with no pressure to give gifts, just enjoy being together. I’m thankful for this season every year and I soak up every moment I can, celebrating Friendsgiving, Drakesgiving (our Drake family dinner), Drinksgiving (doesn’t that sound fun), and of course my traditional trip home to the mitten to see my parents for Thanksgiving!

The question I get the most when people first find out I’m a vegetarian is, “What do you eat on Thanksgiving?” I understand that turkey is a staple to many families’ Thanksgiving spread, but when I’m asked this, I just smile and say, “Everything but the turkey!” Are people forgetting about EVERYTHING ELSE that is served for Thanksgiving? What about the cranberries, mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts, salads and more? What about the baked brie appetizers, pumpkin pie and endless other baked goods. I can assure everyone who asks me what I eat on this day, that I am not starving! I’m stuffed!

If any of you are still looking for recipes for Thursday, here is a list of some of my very favorite Vegetarian Thanksgiving recipes:


SOUPS: (my family loves to start our Thanksgiving meal with soup)

Pumpkin Soup *

Butternut Squash & Apple Soup

Parsnip & Potato Soup


MAINS & SIDES:
Cranberry Relish *

Brussel Sprouts & Apples

White Balsamic Roasted Brussel Sprouts *

Root Vegetable Stuffing *

Cornbread Pudding *

Pear & Pumpkin Seed Salad

Winter Salad *

Butternut Squash & Couscous 

Mashed Potatoes *

Roasted Root Vegetables


SWEETS:
Christmas Cake

Whiskey Cake *

Maple Frosted Pumpkin Cookies *

Chocolate Chip Heath Cookies *

Rosemary Cornmeal Cookies

* Notes items I am making this year for my Vegetarian Thanksgiving! 

Happy Vegetarian Thanksgiving to you all! Cheers!

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light }

  

2 thoughts on “{ Vegetarian Thanksgiving }

Leave a comment