{ Rosemary Cornmeal Cookies}

I love fresh herbs. I currently have a jungle of herbs right now and I am looking for new ways to bring them into my meals. After seeing a recipe on the back of my Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sugar for these cookies, I had to try for myself, with a few adjustments. These cookies remind me of a rosemary scone, meets a sugar cookie, meets your favorite sweet cornbread. I think they’d be great with any herb, not just rosemary. Next time, I will try thyme! Here is a recipe for rosemary cornmeal cookies!

{ ingredients }

  • 1 3/4 cups white whole wheat flour (coconut or almond flour to make GF) 
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal, finely ground
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 heaping Tbs. of fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1 heaping tps. of lemon zest 
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla (I used Madecasse Vanilla {my new favorite} and used a bit less because it is more concentrated)

{ directions }

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  2. Put sugar and lemon juice in the bowl of your electric mixer and mix on low. Add butter and mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, 3-4 minutes. Mix in rosemary, vanilla and eggs. With mixer on low speed add the dry ingredients until well combined. On a parchment lined baking tray, drop rounded tablespoons of dough making sure to leave a spacing of 2 inches.
  3. Bake 13–15 minutes or until lightly browned on the edges. Let cool and serve immediately or store in an airtight container for 3-4 days.
  4. Enjoy! Yum!

Makes about 24 cookies. 124 calories each. 

{ Keep cooking in Love & Light! }

IMG_0901.JPG
Rosemary Cornmeal Cookies
IMG_0906.JPG

One thought on “{ Rosemary Cornmeal Cookies}

Leave a Reply

