{ Lentil & Sweet Potato Curry }

My word for 2017 is INTENTIONAL. This year, I want to be intentional about my life, my relationships, my work, my heath & my eating!

To kick off January, I am doing the Whole30. I will be doing my own version of a meatless and nutless Whole30. I’m three days in, and I’m not starving yet, but I’m a bit terrified that I will be crying in the corner of my closet craving sour gummies soon! I’ve never done a diet or a meal plan at all. I pride myself in cooking (almost) clean meals with fresh veggies and whole ingredients…but I also know that I often overindulge in sugar, carbs, wine & beer. I have also been having arthritus pain for years and have recently been diagnosed with RA. I’ve been wanting to try an antinflammatory diet to see if cutting sugar or gluten helps me feel my best. It’s definitely time for a detox and a refresh. Wish me luck! (and send any recommended recipes my way)

Have I mentioned that I LOVE CURRY!?!?! This is not the first time I’ve shared a Katelyn’s Curry recipe. Here a recipe I made for my first Whole30 dinner, lentil & sweet potato curry over cauliflower rice. I am thrilled that lentils are allowed (sparingly).

{ ingredients }

  • 2 – 28 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup of vegetable broth (homemade or store-bought)
  • 1/2 cup dried lentils
  • 1 Tbs. Coconut oil
  • 1 large onion (red, yellow or white), diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 Serrano pepper, diced (I like to use one the size of my pinky finger)
  • 1 inch of fresh ginger, peeled and minced (or substitute with ginger powder)
  • 3 Tbs. curry powder (I used Rogan Josh from Spice Merchant)
  • 1 tsp. each of coriander, turmeric, cayenne pepper and salt

 { directions }

  1. Heat oil in saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook 2 minutes. Stir in potatoes until they are covered in oil. Add in spices: curry, coriander, turmeric, cayenne and salt. Cook for another 2 minutes.
  2. Pour in lentils, broth, tomatoes, ginger, bell pepper and Serrano.
  3. Cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 25-30 minutes until potatoes and lentils are tender. Season with salt and/or more spices, if desired. I usually add a bit more curry and more cayenne if I’m not tasting the kick I like, but the balance is all personal preference.
  4. While curry mixture is simmering, prepare your rice, couscous or cauliflower rice (I served mine with cilantro lime cauliflower rice (with extra roasted garlic added).
  5. Enjoy! Yum!

Makes about 8 servings. 382 calories each serving. I always think curry (and soups and chili) gets better after sitting for a day or so. I usually make a big pot and eat it for a few days!

NOTES:

  • All spices and garnishes are optional and dependent on your preference. My recommendation would be to taste as you are cooking. You can always add more curry and more spice.
  • Curry is also great topped with a chutney, this is one of my favorites.
  • Add or substitute any other veggies you have in your house: white potatoes, chickpeas, butternut squash, zucchini (if I add squash, I stir it in just 10 minutes before serving), etc.

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light }

One thought on “{ Lentil & Sweet Potato Curry }

Leave a Reply

