Darke Chocolate Pot de Creme

{ Dark Chocolate Pot de Creme }

I ordered this dessert at Table 5 when I was home for the holidays and I’ve been craving it ever since. I found this recipe that I didn’t even have to turn my oven on for I had to make it for myself at home…and it was worth it. Sometimes, we all deserve a little chocolate! Here is a recipe for dark chocolate pot de creme!

{ ingredients }

  • 9 ounces high-quality dark or semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used this)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cups heavy cream
  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 5 tablespoons granulated sugar (add an extra tablespoon if using bitter chocolate)

{ directions }

  1. Place the chocolate in a blender.
  2. Combine milk, cream, egg yolks, sugar and salt in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thickens and almost boils, about 5 minutes.
  3. Pour the milk mixture over the chocolate in the blender. Cover and hold the lid with a thick kitchen towel (to make sure you don’t get burned). Blend until combined and smooth.
  4. Divide the mixture among ramekins or small cups (I used mugs) and refrigerate until set, about 2 hours. You can also leave these overnight.
  5. Before servings top with whipped cream (my favorite recipes here and here) and cocoa powder.
  6. Enjoy! Yum!

Makes 6-8 servings. I would calculate the calories…if I really wanted to know, but I don’t 🙂

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light! }

Leave a Reply

