Easy Quinoa Tacos

{ Quinoa Tacos with Roasted Acorn Squash & Cilantro Lime Yogurt }

When I first visited Savory Spice Shop in OKC, I had to try and smell everything! When I got to the Peruvian Chile Lime Seasoning, I was surprised that it smelled and tasted exactly like my FAVORITE quinoa tacos! One of my true passions is spices and mixing, toasting, grinding (etc. the perfect spice blend, but here in this one bottle, was the exact flavor I am always looking for in my quinoa tacos! The idea of not having to take everything out of my spice cabinet every time I made quinoa tacos did entice me so I had to put it to the test! Here is a recipe for (even easier) quinoa tacos (that I topped with roasted acorn squash & a cilantro lime yogurt sauce).

{ ingredients }

EASY QUINOA TACO FILLING:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • Olive Oil
  • 2 cloves minced Garlic
  • 1 15-oz. can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 15-oz. can of chickpeas, black beans, or any other preferred bean
  • 1 cups Quinoa (I always prefer red quinoa or rainbow)
  • 2 Tbs. Peruvian Chile Lime Seasoning

ROASTED ACORN SQUASH:

  • 1 acorn squash, cleaned, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • Salt and pepper

CILANTRO LIME YOGURT:

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 Tbs. fresh cilantro
  • Juice from one lime
  • Salt and pepper

 { directions }

EASY QUINOA TACO FILLING:

  1. Heat EVOO in saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic, and cook 5 minutes, or until soft. Add seasoning.
  2. Stir in tomatoes, quinoa and water. Cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 25-30 minutes, or until quinoa is tender and liquid is absorbed, stirring occasionally.
  3. Mix in beans.

ROASTED ACORN SQUASH:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix all ingredients in a small bowl and spread on a baking sheet.
  3. Cook for 12 minutes or until they start to brown slightly.

CILANTRO LIME YOGURT:

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender and pulse until well combined. Chill until ready to use.

Now it’s time to build your tacos! Tortilla (my favorites are La Tortilla Factory), then quinoa, add squash and top with yogurt. Add cilantro and green onions if you prefer. ENJOY!

Makes about 4-6 servings (647 calories for one [heaping] taco: tortilla, quinoa, squash and yogurt ). Some of my other favorites to serve quinoa tacos with are Cumin Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Cabbage, Kale & Fennel Slaw!

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light }

IMG_1218-1.JPG
Cilantro Lime Yogurt
IMG_1219-1.JPG
Roasted Acorn Squash
IMG_1217-1.JPG
Quinoa Tacos
One thought on “{ Quinoa Tacos with Roasted Acorn Squash & Cilantro Lime Yogurt }

Leave a Reply

