{ Curry & Couscous }

Everyone who knows me knows that I LOVE curry. Curry is my comfort food. Is there anything better than a warm bowl of spicy goodness?

I’ve been making this recipe for years and I’m not sure if I’ve ever actually typed it up to share. I call this Katelyn’s Curry….it is my favorite version of curry and includes a vegetarian tomato based stew with spices and usually whatever vegetables I have in the fridge. I like to serve my curry over couscous and top with plain Greek yogurt, chopped green onions and fresh herbs. This is my fusion of Indian, Thai and Greek!

Here is a recipe for vegetarian curry over couscous.

{ ingredients }

  • 1 cup of dry couscous
  • 2 cups of water (or vegetable broth)
  • 2 – 28 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 – 15 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes
  • Olive oil
  • 1 large onion (red, yellow or white), diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and cut into the coins
  • 1 bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 Serrano pepper, diced (I like to use one the size of my pinky finger)
  • 1 inch of fresh ginger, peeled and minced (or substitute with ginger powder)
  • 2 Tbs. curry powder (this can be any you prefer…but Penzey’s, Savory and Ms. Netties has great options. I sometimes use half curry powder and half of a balti, rogan josh or garam masala)
  • 1 tsp. each of cumin, coriander, turmeric, cayenne pepper and salt
  • Plain Greek yogurt
  • 3 green onions, chopped (for garnish)
  • Fresh cilantro and mint, chopped (for garnish)

 { directions }

  1. Heat oil in saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook 2 minutes. Stir in potatoes and carrots until they are covered in oil. Add in spices: curry, cumin, coriander, turmeric, cayenne and salt. Cook for another 2 minutes. 
  2. Pour in tomatoes, ginger, bell pepper and Serrano.
  3. Cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 25-30 minutes until potatoes and carrots are tender. Season with salt and/or more spices, if desired. I usually add a bit more curry and more cayenne if I’m not tasting the kick I like, but the balance is all personal preference.
  4. While curry mixture is simmering, prepare couscous. Heat water or broth until it boils. Stir in couscous and a tsp. of butter or oil and remove from heat. Cover and let sit for five minutes and then fluff with a fork. Set aside.
  5. Divide couscous into serving bowls and ladle the curry over the top. Top with yogurt, green onions and herbs and serve with naan.
  6. Enjoy! Yum!

Makes about 8 servings. 382 calories each serving. I always think curry (and soups and chili) gets better after sitting for a day or so. I usually make a big pot and eat it for a few days!

NOTES:

  • All spices and garnishes are optional and dependent on your preference. My recommendation would be to taste as you are cooking. You can always add more curry and more spice.
  • Curry is also great topped with a chutney, this is one of my favorites.
  • Add or substitute any other veggies you have in your house: white potatoes, chickpeas, butternut squash, zucchini (if I add squash, I stir it in just 10 minutes before serving), etc.

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light }

Vegetarian Curry
Vegetarian Curry
IMG_0780.JPG
Curry & couscous with na’an and a glass of sour beer!

 

 

One thought on “{ Curry & Couscous }

Leave a Reply

