{ Berry Pavlova }

This is my 100th post! I can’t even believe it! In January, I started sharing recipes as a New Year’s Resolution. Eight months later, I have shared 100 recipes, learned how to blog, tried new foods, made new friends, posted 300+ Instagram photos, and LOVED every minute of it. Thank you to my few loyal followers, supportive friends and family, taste-testing husband and anyone else who is reading this. I am just so happy to spread a little love and light from my kitchen to yours!

Since this is my 100th recipe, let’s celebrate with a pavlova, smothered in homemade whipped cream and fresh berries! This is a pretty simple dessert that looks impressive and is always a crowd pleaser. My heart belongs to the simple meringue! I can’t help it! So light and sweet…topped with cream and fruit! Pavlova is the older sister of meringue, and to my understanding, is almost exactly the same, with some cornstarch and vinegar added to keep the center soft , compared to a dryer meringue. The ideal pavlova generally has a crisp outer shell and soft marshmallow center.

Here is a recipe for a large pavlova with cream and berries!

{ ingredients }

Pavlova

  • 2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 6 egg whites, room temperature 
  • 1 tsp. vinegar
  • 1 3/4 cups caster sugar

Topping

  • 2 cups of heavy whipping cream
  • 2-4 Tbs. powdered sugar (powdered sugar is my secret to the perfect whipped cream) – use more or less depending on your sweetness preference
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups fresh berries, rinsed  (my favorites are blackberries, raspberries and blueberries)

{ directions }

Pavlova

  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Beat egg whites in a stand mixer until soft peaks form. You could also use an immersion blender with the whisk attachment.
  3. Gradually add cornstarch, vinegar and sugar slowly and keep beating until mixture forms shiny stiff peaks.
  4. Trace a dinner plate on a piece of parchment paper. With the pen side down, place the parchment paper on a baking sheet. This will act as your guide for size and shape.
  5. Spoon the pavlova into the circle and smooth the sides.
  6. Bake for 1 1/2 hours. After 1 1/2 hours, turn your oven off and let the pavlova sit in the oven for another 1 1/2 hours (you can leave for longer, even overnight!).

Topping & Assembly

  1. In a large bowl, whip cream until soft peaks are just about to form. Beat in vanilla and sugar until stiff peaks form. Taste and add more sugar if desired.
  2. Once pavlova is completely cool, spread cream over the top and sprinkle with berries. I usually assemble at least an hour or so before serving. It is best when the cream starts to  soak into a bit.
  3. Enjoy! Yum!

{ Tips }

  • Do not brown the pavlova. It will remain almost pure white.
  • Do not over whip the cream. If whipped too much it will become lumpy and butter-like.
  • Other topping ideas: chocolate shavings, berry or fruit emulsion or sauce.

Makes about 10-12 servings.

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light! }

Pavlova
Pavlova in the Oven
Pavlova with Cream and Berries
Pavlova with Cream and Berries
2 thoughts on “{ Berry Pavlova }

  1. I’m currently making one right now. Made one yesterday too for my mom and sisters. This is my 5th Pavlova thus far. When I made my first one (ok, each of them, lol) I always felt like I was going to mess it up but… Nope! I did well everytime. 😁 Gotta admit though. I didn’t use your recipe. I used the one where you add homemade lemon curd. I actually found your site after reading your review there. When I made my first one I only used the 4 egg whites that recipe called for so on my 2-5 bakes I took your advice on using 6 and let me tell you, THAT really makes a difference. My Pavlova’s come out HUGE and HIGH!! I just wanted to thank you. I hope others took note of your review and did the same. Thanks again…

    Like

Leave a Reply

