{ Spaghetti & Spicy Rice Balls }

When I moved into my first apartment, my mom got me my Basic Betty. Everyone needs the a basic Betty Crocker cookbook. Even though it is easier nowadays to just Google, I reference my Betty often for a recipe or a measurement. This is my favorite Betty recipe (with a couple tweaks)!

{ ingredients }

  • 2 cups cooked white rice (I’ve used Abita)
  • ½ cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 1/2 medium white onion, chopped (I chop in the food processor)
  • ¼ cup Italian bread crumbs
  • ¼ cup milk
  • Handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped finely
  • 2 tsp. chopped fresh oregano leaves
  • 1 tsp. ground cayenne (or more to taste)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ½ cup wheat germ
  • 3 tbs. vegetable oil
  • 2 cups spaghetti sauce (If I don’t make my own,  I always use Bertolli Tomato & Basil sauce and add a little extra diced white onion and fresh basil)
  • 1 package (16 ounces) uncooked (wheat) spaghetti
  • Shredded Parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes, if desired

 { directions }

  1. Cook and drain spaghetti as directed on package.
  2. In large bowl, mix cooked rice, oats, onion, bread crumbs, milk, basil, oregano, red pepper and egg.
  3. Shape into 12 balls. {this step gets a bit messy}
  4. Roll balls in wheat germ.
  5. In a large skillet or wok, heat oil over medium heat. Cook balls in oil about 10 minutes, turning occasionally, until golden brown on all sides. Add small amounts of oil as needed to the pan.
  6. Prepare spaghetti sauce until hot. Serve sauce and rice balls over spaghetti. Sprinkle with cheese and red pepper flakes.
  7. Enjoy! Yum!

Makes about 6 servings. (266 Calories per Serving) I usually double this recipe to ensure I have leftovers!

(Adapted from this recipe.)

{ OPTIONS & TIPS }

  • Serve rice balls with zucchini noodles, instead of spaghetti
  • Serve rice balls with spaghetti squash, instead of spaghetti
  • Serve rice balls over wilted spinach, instead of spaghetti
  • Serve with pesto cream sauce, instead of spaghetti sauce
  • Add 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese to rice balls
  • These are also easy to prepare early: Prepare as directed and warm up in the oven in a glass pan.

{ Keep Cooking in Love & Light }

Leave a Reply

